Breslauer Platz, 50668 Cologne
This icon indicates an awarded building
This icon indicates a listed building
Projects with this logo are on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage list
Project has been converted, renovated or extended
1894 / 1957 / 1999
Busmann + Haberer GmbH
(Bahnsteigüberdachung 1999) Schmitt und Schneider
(Eingangshalle 1957) Architekt Georg Frentzen
(Empfangsgebäude 1894) Architekt Johann Eduard Jacobsthal
(Halle, Wartesaalgebäude 1894) Stefan Polónyi
Total projects: 483
Cologne main station was built between 1889 and 1894 as a successor to the then Centralbahnhof according to plans of the Berlin engineer Grüttefien at the latter station’s original site.
The concourse consisted of a central concourse and two side concourses. The central one had the then unique span of 64m and a length of 255m.
A two-storey waiting hall building was also built, but removed when the station was renovated between 1905 and 1911.
After WWII, there were considerations of moving the station to the site of the Gereon freight station, which somewhat delayed reconstruction.
In September 1957, the new reception hall, built according to plans by architects Schmitt und Schneider, was opened. Its bowl-like roof structure and full-glass facade it presents itself as a transparent, seemingly filigree building.
In the 1990s, the entrance halls from the turn of the century were replaced by a modern structure according to plans by architects Busmann und Haberer and Professor Polonyi.
Also replaced was the glazing above platform 1 between the reception hall and the large historical station concourse.
In 2000, a shopping centre with a sales area of 11,500 sq m, the “Colonaden“, was opened on the entrance level.
Author: editorial baukunst-nrw
Last changed on 21.08.2007