Weseler Straße 433, 46286 Dorsten
This icon indicates an awarded building
This icon indicates a listed building
Projects with this logo are on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage list
Project has been converted, renovated or extended
- keine Angabe -
- keine Angabe -
Advanced search with more criteria
Total projects: 483
Distance: 4.14 km
Distance: 4.54 km
Distance: 4.99 km
Tüshaus-Mühle on Hambach first belonged to the lords of Lembeck on Schloss Lembeck. As early as before the 30 Years War in 1615, a certain Tuschhus had acquired a lease on the Lembeck fulling mill built on old foundations. The last fulling took place in 1880 or so. In 1752, an oil mill was added.
The mill is still owned by the Tüshaus family, which explains its name. The large site is separated from the mill pond by a B-road. It consists of a residential building, a two-storey eaves house with a hipped roof from 1816, an outbuilding from 1906 and the water mill, a brick building with a gabled roof and older parts made of quarry stone.
In 1890, Tüshaus-Mühle got an extra storey and was expanded into a flour mill. In 1908, a generator was installed. In 1970, milling was shut down completely. The oil mill’s technical equipment is fully extant; the flour mill’s only partly.
From 1982, the mill was again restored and partly re-commissioned. On April 24, 1992, it was listed. About 2 years later, the listing was extended to the mill pond and the stone embankment and bank reinforcement.
As a combination of flour mill, oil mill and generator Tüshaus-Mühle is unique in Westphalia and as an example of turn-of-the-century milling technology it is of historical importance.
Author: Stadt Dorsten
Last changed on 21.04.2008
Engineering » Agriculture
Architecture » Commercial Buildings » Technical